top of page

“I’m trying to get better cause I haven't been my best”

I’m not dead yet.


On Tuesday I had a crisis of faith. Not in the religious sense. Just the faith in myself and my ability to be creative.


This is what I posted to Facebook:


‘I’ve been struggling a lot recently. Major impostor syndrome. Inability to focus. Super low energy.


I’ve just become entirely convinced that no one actually likes what I do as a creative. They are just being nice. Realistically I know that is ludicrous but it’s hard to shake. Even though my creativity is the only thing that has been keeping me going these last few years I feel myself pulling away from it and I have even found myself having thoughts of giving up entirely.


I’m not writing this for the pity party. I’m writing it because I need to get it out. I have always worn my heart on my sleeve and this is how I am feeling right now. I’ve already been in tears twice today and I need to start addressing this. 


I have also been having some sleep issues which are compounding everything but I have made the first step today towards addressing it.


Just writing this I have felt some of the tension lift. I will get better but it’s so tough sometimes when things are so low.


Thanks for listening.’



A couple of days later I am feeling a little better. The support that poured out on that thread was so helpful. It is apparent that a lot of people like what I do. Technically I already knew this but sometimes my brain won’t let me believe it.


I have sent a personal thank you to everyone that commented or messaged me but I also want to say another thank you here. The positivity really helped. I don’t like to be that person looking for validation but I guess to an extent I am. Being creative and putting work out into the world while not seeking any kind of validation must be rarer than dodo shit!


This morning I had the song ‘Get Better’ by Frank Turner in my head and it inspired me to write, hence the title of this blog. It’s a song that has brought me a great deal of comfort over the years. A big ‘fuck you’ to unhappyness with it’s incredible tag line, ‘Because we’re not dead yet’ (I really should get myself one of those t-shirts).



Tomorrow night I have a wonderful gig at Patch in Colchester and then next weekend I am heading to Sitingbourne for the Oxbowlake weekender which is going to be incredible. I have achieved a huge amount with my music and continue to do so. It’s all about perspective. Mine often gets very skewed.



I don’t write a lot for this blog anymore but at times it feels relevant to update it. This is one of those times.



When I was feeling low, Gemma suggested that I write 5 words a day and share them. I have really enjoyed this exercise so far and it has led my thoughts to other ideas. Here is what I have so far


Day 1

Hope 

Tomorrow 

Is 

Better


Day 2

Change 

Takes 

Time,

Know


Day 3

Self 

Care 

Is 

Hard,

Always



I’ll keep this up until I don’t feel like it’s helpful anymore (or until people get annoyed and tell me to stop)



Thanks so much for taking the time to read my ramble.


Cheers,

Dan


50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page